Investigators

UWIN brings together perspectives and resources from 15 institutions with longstanding programs in water research and education, and close ties to water stakeholders across the U.S. The core competencies of our trans-disciplinary group span geosciences; ecology; atmospheric sciences; water resources and environmental engineering; social, behavioral, economic and decision sciences; urban planning and design, real estate and urban economics; mathematics and statistics; and computer science.

Mazdak Arabi, PhD

Borland Professor of Water Resources
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Colorado State University
Voice: (970) 491-4639
Email: mazdak.arabi@colostate.edu
Personal Website

Daniel Baker, PhD

Senior Research Scientist
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Colorado State University
Voice: (970) 491-0261
Email: dan.baker@colostate.edu
Personal Website

Alan Berkowitz, PhD

Head of Education
Cary Institute for Ecosystem Studies
Voice: (845) 677-7600 x311
Email: berkowitza@caryinstitute.org
Personal Website

Brian Bledsoe, PhD

Professor
Driftmier Engineering Center
The University of Georgia
Voice: (706) 542-7249
Email: bbledsoe@uga.edu
Personal Website

Jessica Bolson, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow
Risk Management and Decision Processes Center
Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Voice: (917) 957-9587
Email: bolson@wharton.upenn.edu

Elie Bou Zeid, PhD

Associate Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Princeton University
Voice: (609) 258-5429
Email: ebouzeid@princeton.edu
Personal Website

Kenneth Broad, PhD

Professor
Marine Ecosystems and Society
University of Miami
Voice: (305) 421-4851
Email: kbroad@rsmas.miami.edu
Personal Website

Mike Crimmins, PhD

Associate Professor
Soil Water and Environmental Science
University of Arizona
Voice: (520) 626-4244
Email: crimmins@email.arizona.edu
Personal Website

Olaf David, PhD

Director
Object Modeling Systems Laboratory
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Colorado State Universiyy
Voice: (970) 491-7316
Email: olaf.david@colostate.edu
Personal Website

Scott Denning, PhD

Professor
Atmospheric Science
Colorado State Universiyy
Voice: (970) 491-8359
Email: denning@atmos.colostate.edu
Personal Website

Matei (Matt) Georgescu, PhD

Assistant Professor
Geographical Sciences & Urban Planning
Arizona State University
Voice: (480) 727-5986
Email: matei.georgescu@asu.edu
Personal Website

Charles Glass, PhD

Associate Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Howard University
Voice: (202) 806-6571
Email: cglass@howard.edu
Personal Website

Neil Grigg, PhD

Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Colorado State University
Voice: (970) 491-3369
Email: neilg@engr.colostate.edu
Personal Website

Nancy Grimm, PhD

Professor
School of Life Sciences
Arizona State University
Voice: (480) 965-4735
Email: nbgrimm@asu.edu
Personal Website

Roy Haggerty, PhD

Hollis M. Dole Professor of Environmental Geology
Department of Geosciences
Oregon State University
Voice: (541) 737-1210
Email: haggertr@science.oregonstate.edu
Personal Website

Sharon Harlan, PhD

Professor
Sociology and Health Sciences
Social Science Environmental Health Research Institute
Northeastern University
Voice: (617) 373-7326
Email: s.harlan@northeastern.edu
Personal Website

 

Adam Henry, PhD

Associate Professor
Government & Public Policy
University of Arizona
Voice: (520) 621-8893
Email: adhenry@email.arizona.edu
Personal Website

David Hondula, PhD

Assistant Professor
Geophysical Sciences & Urban Planning
Arizona State University
Voice: (480) 965-4794
Email: david.hondula@asu.edu
Personal Website

Arpad Horvath, PhD

Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of California, Berkeley
Voice: (510) 642-7300
Email: horvath@ce.berkeley.edu
Personal Website

David Hulse, MLA

Philip H. Knight Professor
Department of Landscape Architecture
University of Oregon
Voice: (541) 346-3672
Email: dhulse@uoregon.edu
Personal Website

Darrel Jenerette, PhD

Associate Professor
Botany & Plant Sciences
University of California, Riverside
Voice: (951) 827-7113
Email: darrel.jenerett@ucr.edu
Personal Website

Alicia Lanier, PE, CWRE, M.ASCE

Lanier Consulting, Inc
Portland, OR; Miami, FL
Voice: (503) 970-3487
Email: alicia@lanier-consulting.com
Personal Website

David Letson, PhD

Professor
Marine Ecosystems and Society
University of Miami
Voice: (305) 421-4083
Email: dletson@rsmas.miami.edu
Personal Website

Elizabeth Mack, PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Geography
Michigan State University
Voice: (517) 432-7058
Email: emack@msu.edu
Personal Website

Forrest Meggers, PhD

Assistant Professor
School of Architecture
Princeton University
Voice: (609) 258-7831
Email: fmeggers@princeton.edu
Personal Website

Thomas Meixner, PhD

Professor
Hydrology and Water Resources
University of Arizona
Voice: (520) 626-1532
Email: tmeixner@email.arizona.edu
Personal Website

Robert Meyer, PhD

Professor
Wharton School Marketing Department
University of Pennsylvania
Voice: (215) 898-1826
Email: meyerr@wharton.upenn.edu
Personal Website

Andrew Miller, PhD

Professor
Geography and Environmental Systems
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Voice: (443) 904-4484
Email: miller@umbc.edu
Personal Website

Ali Mostafavi, PhD

Assistant Professor
Zachry Department of Civil Engineering
Texas A&M University
Voice: (979) 845-4856
Email: mostafavi@tamu.edu
Personal Website

Marilys Nepomechie, M.Arch.

Professor
College of Architecture and The Arts
Florida International University
Voice: (305) 348-1887
Email: nepomech@fiu.edu
Personal Website

Shirley Papuga, PhD

Associate Professor
School of Natural Resources and the Environment
University of Arizona
Voice: (303) 332-7575
Email: papuga@email.arizona.edu
Personal Website

Gary Pivo, PhD

Professor
School of Natural Resources
University of Arizona
Voice: (520) 561-6134
Email: gpivo@email.arizona.edu
Personal Website

Jorge Ramirez, PhD

Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Colorado State University
Voice: (970) 491-7621
Email: jorge.ramirez@colostate.edu
Personal Website

Sybil Sharvelle, PhD

Associate Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Colorado State University
Voice: (970) 491-6081
Email: sybil.sharvelle@colostate.edu
Personal Website

James Smith, PhD

Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Princeton University
Voice: (609) 258-4615
Email: jsmith@princeton.edu
Personal Website

Michael Sukop, PhD, PG, CHg

Professor
Department of Earth and Environment
Florida International University
Voice: (305) 348-3117
Email: sukopm@fiu.edu
Personal Website

Christopher Swan, PhD

Professor
Geography and Environmental Systems
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Voice: (410) 455-3957
Email: chris.swan@umbc.edu
Personal Website

Zhihua Wang, PhD

Assistant Professor
Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment
Arizona State University
Voice: (480) 727-9592
Email: zhwang@asu.edu
Personal Website

Claire Welty, PhD

Professor
Chemical, Biochemical, and Environmental Engineering
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Voice: (410) 455-1766
Email: weltyc@umbc.edu
Personal Website

css.php